One Malaysia Community
What's happening around Malaysia

Miss World Malaysia 2009’s comfort zone

By: Willy Wilson | Dec 6, 2010
Miss World Malaysia 2009’s comfort zone


There’s a familiar sense of warmth in a house where Thanuja Ananthan grew up. A majestic dining table with six seats, a marble tabletop in the living room, and a wooden floor-ceiling kitchen cabinet set the tone for an elegant, charming and inviting house. It comes as a no surprise that Ananthan, who was crowned Miss World Malaysia 2009, shares similar qualities as a person.

Located in Bandar Kinrara, Puchong, the house is surrounded by a garden where she plays with her dog and her father maintains his 30-year-old bougainvilleas. The exterior of the house assumes a rather modest architectural style. But the interior is exceptionally harmonious, made obvious by a great selection of woodworks in earthy colours such as brown and maroon.

“As you can see, there are a lot of antique furniture and ethnic decoration here,” says Ananthan, who is a self-professed animal lover and a PETA ambassador in Malaysia.

Her father, a property developer who had lived and worked in Saudi Arabia, Sabah and Sarawak, is a big fan of ethnic furniture. According to Ananthan, it is her father’s experience in these places that has brought in an eclectic mix of cultural mish-mash in this house.

Ananthan, who is currently pursuing her undergraduate degree in Law from Northumbria University via distance learning, reckons that growing in such a typical suburban house has helped keep her grounded. And unlike many youngsters who dislike suburban living, Thanuja actually loves the quiet and peaceful life in Puchong. In fact, she is hoping to get her own property in this area. StarProperty.my chats with the 24-year-old beauty recently.

Tell us about the layout and interior of the house.
This is a two-and-a-half-storey semi-detached house that has gone through three renovations. The ground floor consists of a garden, a living room, a dining room, a kitchen and a bedroom. A floor up, there are three bedrooms, a TV room and a balcony. Another floor up is the prayer room. There are a lot of classic elements when it comes to the interior, which is obvious from the play of colours, down to the material selection. Earthy tones such as brown and maroon, found in everything from the leather furniture to the decorative walls, give that cosy feeling to the house.

What are some of the most unique interior pieces in this house?
As you can see, there are a lot of antique furniture and ethnic decoration here. Where interior design is concerned, my parents were very much involved. The interior pieces found here are truly the representations of their interest in culture. Having lived in places such as Saudi Arabia, Sabah and Sarawak, my father has cultivated a deep interest in ethnic decoration. My mother, on the other hand, loves classic pieces with durable quality.

Take a look around and you will find a 30-year-old solid wood dining table from Indonesia, Sarawakian wall arts, Egyptian painting, antique rugs and tribal pieces from all over the world. The most interesting piece is perhaps the tall-case clock, which is placed at the corner of the living room.

Charming: Wooden floor-ceiling kitchen cabinet

What’s your favourite corner in the house?
I love the garden, which serves as the backdrop for the kitchen and dining. With a fishpond, a doghouse and well-maintained plants, the garden looks particularly beautiful when viewed from a little patio off the dining area.

My father is very passionate about gardening, and he takes very good care of the garden. Most of the plants are older than me, but his favourite is the 30-year-old bougainvilleas.

Do you plan to move out and get your own place anytime soon?
Well, investing in property is definitely on my mind. In fact, my father, who is a property developer, has always advised my siblings and I to invest in property. Having said that, I’m not sure if I would move out of my parents’ house anytime soon, as I find it very comfortable here.

What would your ideal home be like?
My ideal home would be just like my parents’! Growing up in this house has made me a person who thrives in culture and ethnic elements. However, I imagine myself living in a condominium, as it would be easier for me to maintain.

Where would be the ideal location for your dream house?
I have no plans to live in the city. I think owning a property in Puchong would be great, because this area is growing fast, but less crowded than KL and PJ. And of course, I would like to be close to my parents!

Let’s talk about your career. How has your life changed since becoming Miss World Malaysia 2009?
On a personal level, nothing much has changed – I do get people who come up to say “hello” at mamak these days, and that’s about it. On a professional level, it has opened up many doors of opportunities. Indeed, it has given me a platform to bring up issues that I’m passionate about. For example, my concerns about animals can now be heard because I have been given the opportunity to become a PETA ambassador.

Lastly, what do you see yourself doing in the next few years?
Well, I will still model for as long as I can. Although I am well aware of the fact that models do have expiry dates (laughs). At the same time, I’m working towards becoming a criminal lawyer. Wish me luck!

http://www.starproperty.my/PropertyGuide/Profile/8736/0/0

One Response to “Miss World Malaysia 2009’s comfort zone”

  1. First of all I want to say excellent blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing. I’ve had a difficult time clearing
    my thoughts in getting my thoughts out there.
    I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10
    to 15 minutes tend to be wasted just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any ideas or hints? Thanks!


Leave a Reply

